Our Board of Directors

The Capstone Rural Health Center Board of Directors meets requirements of a Federally Qualified Health Center under section 330 of the Public Health Services and is ultimately responsible for all Capstone activities, including planning and policies. With thirteen voting Board Members plus the non-voting Executive Director, the Board of Directors generally reflects the user population in ethnicity and service area. The Board of Directors is appropriate for the size of the organization and is represented from various sectors of the community, including: business operation, local government, finance, health care, mental health, education, and legal services. Official board training is completed in a two-step process, an initial meeting for orientation, followed by annual formal board training involving: bylaws, 330 requirements, financial data, operation structure, policies, and ongoing changes in the healthcare arena.

Board Members

Marcy Brown


Clerk, City of Dora

June Kinley


Retired Educator

Jerry Callahan


Magistrate, Town of Parrish

James Brakefield


Jackson, Fikes, Hood & Brakefield

Ronald Polk


Retired Alaska State Trooper

Skip Newman


Retired Director, NWAMH

Sue Parnell


Northwest Alabama Mental Health

David Rubley, CRNP


Carbon Hill Family Medical

Marietta Stanton, PhD, CRNP


Professor, University of Alabama

Lamar Lawrence


Social Security Administration

Carol Downs


Accountant, Downs & Associates

William Doss


Alabama Power

About Capstone

NCQA Recognized Practice

Capstone is a medical home providing access to affordable primary, preventive and wellness services distinguished by mission, vision, integrity, and respect in Walker County and surrounding areas.

Capstone is a certified FTCA facility, and is a Health Center Program grantee under 42 U.S.C. 254b; deemed Public Health Service employee under 42 U.S.C. 233(g)-(n).